Bangkok to Kanchanaburi - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Claudia Brenen - WaarBenJij.nu Bangkok to Kanchanaburi - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Claudia Brenen - WaarBenJij.nu

Bangkok to Kanchanaburi

Door: Claudia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

23 Januari 2005 | Thailand, Bangkok

Bangkok, Wednesday 19-01-2005

It's not even 8 o'clock when I step out on the street and that's nice, because it gives me a whole new look on Khaosan Road. It's relatively quiet. Shops are still closed, just a few restaurants are open for breakfast, there are some tuk tuks and taxis and the odd traveller finding his or her way, but that's it.
The plan was to walk to the National Museum, but that's not that easy. According to my map it's really nearby, but after failing to find the amulet market yesterday, I've started to doubt my mapreading abbilities. When I come to this massive, complicated roundabout, connected on one side with the highway and on the other on a Champs Elysee like street, I wonder if I should risk my life crossing it. While I'm considering the pros and cons, someone asks me what I'm looking for. According to him there is no point going there, because it's only open during weekends. Not taking his word for it, I get a tuk tuk to cross this mad junction and arrive in time to join the free guided tour.
Why do people say the Thai are so friendly, when all they do is try to get into your wallet and tell you untruths (won't call them lies....yet). Is it me? Is it Bangkok?
Anyway, the museum is wonderfull, especially the voluntary guide. She gives us so much information, it will certainly help me to appreciate all the wats, arts and culture a lot better. My curiosity on Bhuddism awakened, I buy a book in the museumshop: 'The things Buddha taught', I find a bench at Bangkoks Hyde park (a big square with the Grand Palace on one site and this crazy roundabout on the other), stretch out, pretend I don't hear the continous stream of traffic and start reading.

Nam Tok (Kanchanaburi), Thursday 20-01-2005

Maybe the day didn't o exactly according to plan, but in the end I have no complains.
At 6.50 I'm ready at the leavingpoint to Kanchanaburi. So far so good. When the minibus is full we set off......all the way to Kanchanaburi. I was expecting to go by train, but he, as long as we get there. I'm a bit worried that I'm the only one that brought all his luggage and not just a small bag like the others. Did they put me in the right minibus?
We arrive at the Second world war cemetry, the same one I've already seen in 2003, so I take the opportunity to ask the local guide what the deal is. I am in the right bus, thank God and he more or less explains me what is going to happen today, but he does not know what's going on the next 2 days.

The day passes by in total confusion. We get on trains we didn't expect to, we change minibusses, drivers and guides and we lose fellow travellers who we meet again later on. But by the end of the day, I've seen the Bridge over the river Kwai, the Second world war museum (the most random museum I've ever seen. A collection of photographs, weapons, typewriters, stories and miss Thai dresses), had a train ride and saw a waterfall. Finally the day ends at, how cool, Somnuk Elephant camp. I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive on arrival, realizing I had to stay in this remote place, together with the elephants en mahoods (elephant drivers), but that's gone as soon as I enter my hut. It's a desent size hut on a raft on the river, with 2 beds, a shower and a washbowl. Really luxurious after my experience in Bangkok. And the view ! Plus no traffic. Just peace and quiet, just what the doctor ordered.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Bangkok

Thailand, backpacken

2 Maanden met de rugzak naar Thailand.

Recente Reisverslagen:

20 Maart 2005

Feeling under the weather

15 Maart 2005

Postponing homeward travel

02 Maart 2005

No time

18 Februari 2005

Pure laziness

12 Februari 2005

Chiang Mai and Pai
Claudia

I don't know where I'm going for the ocean will decide. It's not the destination, it's the glory of the ride.

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 193
Totaal aantal bezoekers 87120

Voorgaande reizen:

12 November 2011 - 18 November 2011

New York, New York

28 Februari 2011 - 04 September 2011

Frankrijk en Spanje, werken als ITM

24 November 2010 - 10 Februari 2011

Argentinië, backpacken

01 Maart 2010 - 02 November 2010

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammanager

21 December 2009 - 17 Januari 2010

Spanje, maandje luieren in Andalusië

25 Februari 2009 - 04 November 2009

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammanager

16 November 2008 - 21 Januari 2009

Indonesië, 2 maanden met de rugzak op pad

25 Februari 2008 - 27 November 2008

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammmanager

16 November 2007 - 16 December 2007

Curaçao, op avontuur met Peter-Jan

07 April 2007 - 25 Oktober 2007

Frankrijk, werken als beheerder in de Vendée

15 Maart 2007 - 05 April 2007

Turkije, backpacken

27 December 2006 - 30 December 2006

Berlijn, lang weekend weg

13 Maart 2006 - 19 September 2006

Frankrijk, werken als beheerder in Lectoure

01 April 2005 - 15 Oktober 2005

Frankrijk, werken als Area Assistant in La Palmyre

14 Januari 2005 - 24 Maart 2005

Thailand, backpacken

18 December 2004 - 05 Januari 2005

Kopenhagen, op visite bij Maria

30 April 2004 - 30 September 2004

Frankrijk, Loiredal, werken als Area Assistant

15 Januari 2003 - 19 Juni 2003

Zuidelijk Afrika, backpacken

Landen bezocht: