Country of the everlasting smile, but...... - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Claudia Brenen - WaarBenJij.nu Country of the everlasting smile, but...... - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Claudia Brenen - WaarBenJij.nu

Country of the everlasting smile, but......

Door: Claudia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

19 Januari 2005 | Thailand, Bangkok

Bangkok, monday 17-01

10 minutes, waiting in front of a traffic light, and I'm not joking. I don't know what to call this, but "traffic jam" does not cover it. I was supposed to have half a day of citytour, but all we did was drive to Khaosan road, Bangkoks lively backpackersstreet, checked out some guesthouses and tried to get back to the hotel. Now and then Bank, my personal guide, pointed out some things of interest but there was no time to stop and check them out. I didn't really mind, I'm not in the mood yet anyway. Bangkok needs some time to get used to me first.

It always bothers me not being able to speak the language of the country I'm in. I feel ignorent and rude sometimes and it's a large barrier for understanding people. You can't pick up their conversations for example. Bank and the driver are discussing these Buddha images. They have a few amulets in small a plastic bags (being a Dutchie I'm a bit preoccupied and for a split second thought it was grass) and a large catalogue full of them. I'd love to understand what they're saying. What do these amulets and statues mean to them? What makes one of them more interesting or better than the others? what is he looking for with his spyglass?
I consider asking these questions but I don't. Bank has finished university and speaks English, but there is one Thai custom he is making me get adjusted to really quick: just nodd and smile if you don't understand what they're saying. I have a feeling subject is a bit too complicated to discuss in Double Dutch.

Bangkok, 18-01

Sleep in he ! Forget it. It's not even 7 when I start twisting and turning. I'm wide awake at 7.30 and I decide I might as well get started.
I take a highly overprized, but reliable hotel taxi to Khaoson road, leaving the rooftop pool and bellboys behind The taxidriver is really friendly and when I tell him I have plans to north, he tells me I should go to T.A.T. for cheap tickets. He's even willing to take me there, free of charge. As a matter of fact, he's even willing to drop the price from 350 to 250. I pop in for a second to see what they have to offer, but when I tell them I don't know when I will be leaving Bangkok, they show me the door. My chauffeur is really disappointed that I didn't book a ticket (although I told him before I entered) and to humor him, I ask him if he can give me the adress......twice. No respond ! Ok fine, I don't even want their traintickets. But when he starts speaking again, I can tell he hasn't given up on me completely: Going back means extra taxicosts and they'll give me a higher price. On top of that, the tickets you get on Khaosan road are 'no good' (what can be wrong about a trainticket?). As a last resort he gives me the TAT's phonenumber and his name. To say the least, he is not amused, losing his profit over this stupid farang (white person).

I check in at Marco Polo and enter my cupboard nr. 207. The small double bed, luckely I like a hard bed, is squeezed in, touching the walls on three sides. With a little bit of force I'm able to put my backpack between the bed and the shower/toilet (Maria: your bathroom is big !!). But......there is airconditioning ! It's definitely not a place to spend your day, so I put on my walking shoes and have a slow walk to the waterfront, where I sit and enjoy the sight for a while. When I have a strole through the park, this guy starts having a chat with me. Apparently he's taking care of this park and he gives me some tips on where to go in the area. It's my lucky day, because it's Buddha-day today. That means that I can see things that are closed the rest of the year and even for free. He points out the places on my map and I ask him if I can walk there. He has a better idea. On this special day, any tuk tuk with yellow numberplates will take me to all these wats (temples) for only 20 Baht (50 Baht = 1 Euro). I was thinking to walk a bit first, but he walks with me showing me where I can find such a tuk tuk. When I leave the park, immediately a tuk tuk shows up, the driving pointing out to me that he has a yellow numberplate. It is my lucky day !!
I tell him I want to see the standing Buddha and he offers me to take me to all of them for only 20 Baht. Wow, the park guard/gardener was right !

First stop: standing Buddha. It's a 32 m tall and 11 m wide statue covered with coldleaves by the royal familiy. Rather impressive. Next stop is the lucky Buddha. Normally closed to tourists but open today. A boy or man (it's so hard to tell their age sometimes) who's playing football with uniformed schoolkids next to the temple (is he a teacher?) shows me the entrance. I'm greeted with a friendly 'Hello Farang' and a little girl ignores the game for a second to come and shake my hand. When I've seen the rather small Buddha I thank the guard and want to return to my tuk tuk, when he start a conversation with me. How did I get here? Did I hear about Thai fashion? Did I know the government is promoting the real tailors, who still work solely by hand? If I have the time I should have myself made a suit.
Back on the street, I tell my driver I want to go to the Gold mountain, but he wants to take me to the tailor. Wait a minutre, do I see a pattern here? Random guy at the park, tuk tuk showing up right away, temple guard talking about Thai fashion. I've been trapped into this....somehow, somewhere. Anyway, I tall him I will pay him extra but definitely not want to go to the taylor. He stops there anyway and practicly begs me to go in for 5 minutes. I keep refusing, although I know he won't receive his free food coupon. Arrived at Gold mountain he want me to pay 100 baht instead of the agreed 20, but I give him 50.

Slowly I climb the 80 m high artificial hill with the gold chedi (bellshape monument containing a Buddha relic) on top. I take it slow because although it's 'only' around 27/29C and dry season, it's really humid. There are Buddha images and memorial plaques hidden in corners all the way up, so that's a good excuse to have a break now and then. On top a stunning 260 degrees view of Bangkok is my reward.

A half hour of relaxing in my room, turns into a 4 hour nap (I blame it ont he heat, jetlag and new impressions). I have a meal and a drink, watching the buzz of Khao San road. Then I fall asleep to the beat of the bar downstairs.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Bangkok

Thailand, backpacken

2 Maanden met de rugzak naar Thailand.

Recente Reisverslagen:

20 Maart 2005

Feeling under the weather

15 Maart 2005

Postponing homeward travel

02 Maart 2005

No time

18 Februari 2005

Pure laziness

12 Februari 2005

Chiang Mai and Pai
Claudia

I don't know where I'm going for the ocean will decide. It's not the destination, it's the glory of the ride.

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 173
Totaal aantal bezoekers 87461

Voorgaande reizen:

12 November 2011 - 18 November 2011

New York, New York

28 Februari 2011 - 04 September 2011

Frankrijk en Spanje, werken als ITM

24 November 2010 - 10 Februari 2011

Argentinië, backpacken

01 Maart 2010 - 02 November 2010

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammanager

21 December 2009 - 17 Januari 2010

Spanje, maandje luieren in Andalusië

25 Februari 2009 - 04 November 2009

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammanager

16 November 2008 - 21 Januari 2009

Indonesië, 2 maanden met de rugzak op pad

25 Februari 2008 - 27 November 2008

Frankrijk, werken als International Teammmanager

16 November 2007 - 16 December 2007

Curaçao, op avontuur met Peter-Jan

07 April 2007 - 25 Oktober 2007

Frankrijk, werken als beheerder in de Vendée

15 Maart 2007 - 05 April 2007

Turkije, backpacken

27 December 2006 - 30 December 2006

Berlijn, lang weekend weg

13 Maart 2006 - 19 September 2006

Frankrijk, werken als beheerder in Lectoure

01 April 2005 - 15 Oktober 2005

Frankrijk, werken als Area Assistant in La Palmyre

14 Januari 2005 - 24 Maart 2005

Thailand, backpacken

18 December 2004 - 05 Januari 2005

Kopenhagen, op visite bij Maria

30 April 2004 - 30 September 2004

Frankrijk, Loiredal, werken als Area Assistant

15 Januari 2003 - 19 Juni 2003

Zuidelijk Afrika, backpacken

Landen bezocht: